Applications open for bids to run 19 special free schools

Applications invited for 19 special free schools

The Department for Education has stated that 19 local authorities have invited applications to run new special free schools, potentially creating 1,600 new special free school places.

Organisations can now apply to the 19 local authorities, setting out how they will meet criteria developed by the local authorities and the Department for Education.

Among the special free school specifications announced today are:

A 200-place school with both early years and post-16 places for pupils between the ages of three and 19 in the Borough of Bedford.

A 100-place school with post-16 provision for pupils between the ages of five to 19 with complex communication and interaction needs, Autism spectrum disorder and other social and mental health needs in Doncaster.

A 125-place school for pupils between the ages of four and 16 with social communication needs and Autism spectrum disorder in Hampshire.

A 150-place school with early years and post-16 provision for pupils between the ages of two to 19 with Autism spectrum disorder in Croydon.

There are currently 346 open free schools, 38 studio schools and 48 university technical colleges, which will provide over 234,000 places when at capacity.

The local authorities are Bedford, Blackpool, Bradford, Cheshire East, Croydon, Doncaster, Enfield, Essex, Hampshire, Havering, Herefordshire, Hounslow, Manchester, Portsmouth, Redbridge, Sheffield, South Gloucestershire, Suffolk and Sunderland.

Applications close on 24 November.

Read more