Former shadow education secretary to join education committee line-up

Former shadow education secretary Lucy Powell has been elected to serve on the education select committee along with two ex-teachers.

On Saturday, Powell tweeted that she was “delighted” to be elected to join the committee, which includes Ian Mearns who has served the committee in the last two parliaments.

Others serving on the committee includes Thelma Walker, a former headteacher who was elected to represent Colne Valley in June, and James Frith, former head of careers education social enterprise - All Together.

That makes the number of Labour committee members five, and it is expected that there will be six Conservative MPs.

Read more